Hidden amongst the trees on the hill behind the XXXX Brewery is this old brick See house, built in 1865-68 for Edward Tufnell, the first Anglican Bishop of Brisbane. Designed by colonial architect Benjamin Backhouse (also founding architect of the nearby Fernberg aka Government House) it features distinctive Gothic arched colonnades.
Bishops occupied this house until 1964 when St Francis Theological College, who had occupied the surrounding grounds since 1936. took possession and the Bishopsbourne was moved to the grander and more imposing Eldernell at Hamilton.
Adjacent to Bishopsbourne is a picturesque little stone chapel designed by RS Dods and constructed in 1912.
233 Milton Rd