Mayes Cottage in Kingston, open to the public for visits, offers a fascinating insight into early pioneer life in the Logan area.
In 1871 young couple John and Emily Hayes immigrated from England, having apparently been lured by stories they heard from relatives and local settlers the Kingstons. With 2 small children in tow they sailed on the ship 'Indus' and made their home on this hilly cottage site in what is now the Logan municipality.
Although times were tough in this relatively wild district and they lived in a tiny slab hut (which still stands on the property) they persevered and went on to have four more children in the two-roomed hut. John made a living through the growing of fruit trees, pineapples and grapes which were on-sold to Brisbane.
With the 1880s came prosperous times in south east Queensland and a railway was built to the region then in 1887 John built the cottage, christened 'Pleasant Place' that is now known as Mayes Cottage, before going on to have two more children there. (Sadly, the daughter, Ruth, that arrived on the boat with them drowned at age 12 in the property's well).
The original slab hut became a shelter for their buggy and later a motor car 'garage'. The house, meantime, still contains family furniture from the 1880s to the 1930s, when their eldest surviving son Josiah lived there and the original dairy and cow bells survive. As such, it is an priceless time capsule of a pioneering family.
John and Emily are buried, along with other settlers the Kingstons in the nearby Kingston Pioneer Cemetery on Bega Rd.
Open Thu-Fri 10.30-4 Free Entry
20 Mawarra St